A Day in LA: What to Do in Downtown Los Angeles

When I was little, Los Angeles seemed like a hulking mass of a city filled with traffic, cars, and Korean people because my understanding of Los Angeles was the 4 blocks of Koreatown that my mother, aunts, and grandmother frequented at least once a month. But of course, Los Angeles is so much more than the Korean epicenter that I understood it to be. Just like San Francisco (and really, any other metropolitan city), Los Angeles has micro-neighborhoods with it’s own specialties, cuisines, and types of people.

If you find yourself in Downtown LA, between Figueroa and Main, here’s what’s worth a visit. I know it’s sacrilege to leave your car, but spend the day walking around the neighborhood, instead of soaking in the sights from the confines of a vehicle.

Do:

The Broad Museum
221 S. Grand Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90012

IMG_5592

The Broad has already been featured here, but I still can’t get over it! Eli and Edith Broad’s collection is no joke and full of pieces that you’ll remember for quite a long time — it’s pretty hard to forget about Jeff Koons. Like I said before, leave behind the camera and the urge to Instagram the first time you go. Reservations are still booked out until February, but maybe things will quiet down soon. Maybe.

Eat:

Grand Central Market
317 S. Broadway
Los Angeles, CA 90013

If you find yourself walking down Broadway, you’ve found yourself on one of the most LA-esque streets in the city. Art-deco buildings, mixed with rundown concrete boxes with graffiti on the facade line the sky. A few storefronts away from a religious candle store, is Grand Central Market, the longstanding food hall that was recently renovated in 2014. The market now serves as a home to over 40 food stands and vendors, like Eggslut and Ramen Hood, but also local food purveyors like Sarita’s Pupuseria and Valeria’s, a spice stand.

Stopping at Grand Central Market is a must. There are few places that give you a feel and understanding for the culture that lies in the underbelly of a major city, all while being situated right next to some of the most publicized restaurants in the country.

Bottega Louie
700 S. Grand Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90017

freutcake_smpliving_bybrycecovey_049

Photo c/o Bryce Covey from Jacquelyn Clark’s blog

01-chocolate-for-parties-600x600

Photo c/o @sohappitogether

It’s hard to ignore the constant stream of macaroon and Bottega Louie ‘grams on nearly every fashion and food blogger’s site. Even with the hype, I’d still stop by for a few sweet treats, a cup of coffee, and a visit to this famed LA food destination. You only live once, right?

Play:

Walt Disney Concert Hall
111 S. Grand Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90012

A glass of wine, a nice dress, and a long evening spent sitting down and listening to great music. Sounds like a dream night for me. If you’re already downtown, why not stick around for a few more hours to catch the LA Philharmonic and Gustavo Dudamel, aka The Dude? The 2015/2016 calendar is coming to a close in June, with many exciting shows lined up.

3 thoughts on “A Day in LA: What to Do in Downtown Los Angeles

  1. Amber says:

    Hi Logan!

    What a great post. I’ve never been to LA before (I live on the East Coast of the US) but it seems like a really amazing city. Those food pics look SO good! I’ve never heard of Louie Bottega (guess I’m somehow missing the hype!?) I pinned one of them just now, though! I’d love to visit LA someday!

    I used to live in San Francisco… So jealous that you get to frequent it. I studied at Academy of Art University for a time and really fell in love with the city. It’s SO amazing. One thing that always caught my heart about it was that even though it’s a big city, the people are SOOO friendly. Also, I know a of people think of it as cold, but coming from Maine I found the weather perfect. I’m hoping to get back there some day soon! Maybe when I’m in the area I’ll pay LA a visit too :) Thanks for the LA hotspot list!

    I like your blog- following you via Instagram :)

    XO,
    amber

    • loganapayne says:

      Thanks for reading, Amber! I love living just across the bay from the city and working there. Great place! Definitely try and check out LA the next time you’re in California!

Leave a Reply

