BBQ Tofu and Green Onion and Egg Pizza

_MG_3161

I know, everyone. I know. Sunday Scoops have disappeared. I’ve lived and I’ve learned. When you are mostly cooking for one, it’s unrealistic to think that you’ll want to eat ice cream every day of the week, just so you can clean out your tupperware and get ready for the next batch. Also, I wasn’t keen on the possibility of going up three jean sizes.  Instead, I’ll post the most photogenic dishes I cook, because believe me, my morning oatmeal isn’t pretty.

Today, as I looked to the 5 loads of laundry that are waiting to be done before the end of today, I had to eat some protein. Ever since I saw Chef Vivian Howard serve up a wood fired pizza with an egg in the center, I’ve been intrigued. An egg on a pizza? OF COURSE.

BBQ Tofu and Green Onion and Egg Pizza 
Ingredients 

Pita bread
1 1/2 cups of grated cheese
1/2 cup mild BBQ sauce (this one’s my favorite)
1 sprig of green onion, sliced into long cylinders
1/2 cup of tofu, diced
1/2 cup sausage
1 egg
Salt and crushed red pepper to taste

1. Heat oven to 400 degrees

2. Pour BBQ sauce over pita (be careful to not let it drip over!), then add cheese, tofu, 1/2 of the green onions, and sausage. Crack egg over the center and cook in the oven for 7 minutes.

3. Once cooked, take out of the oven and sprinkle over the remaining green onion and crushed red pepper.

Leave a Reply

