Dutch Oven Roasted Tomatoes with Spinach and Fried Egg

_MG_2698

True story: I used to hate vegetables. As an infant, I would sit next to my grandmother with my mouth wide open, just waiting for a piece of whatever vegetable she was cutting. But then, something changed and I started to hate vegetables. If you tried to feed me broccoli, I would gag. Even if you bribed me with a new Barbie, nope. Eventually, with age, I learned to love (some, not all) vegetables again and now, am learning to love cooking them.

One of my favorites happens to be tomatoes for their rich depth of flavor when you cook them for a bit in the oven, in a pan, or a pot. In the midst of making breakfast this morning, I decided that I wanted some even thought I knew that roasting them in my tiny toaster oven would delay my eating for another 30 minutes. But, this is where my favorite Le Creuset came in to save the morning.

For this semi-simple dish, you may want to start in advance with roasting the tomatoes since they do take a little more time than the other components. But with just a few seasonings and some fresh ingredients, you can easily whip up this savory breakfast.

Dutch Oven Roasted Tomatoes with Spinach and Fried Egg 

Ingredients

2 Roma tomatoes
2 cups spinach
1 egg
1 piece of whole grain toast
olive oil
salt, to taste
crushed pepper, to taste

1. Heat a heavy pot or a dutch oven and generously coat the bottom of the pan with olive oil.

2. Halve the Roma tomatoes and place them in the pan skin side down and season with salt and pepper. Turn the temperature down to medium-low and cover. Cook for 15 minutes, repositioning the tomatoes occasionally.

3. In a small pan, sauté spinach with olive oil, salt, and pepper. WIth the leftover oil, fry the egg with more salt and pepper.

4. Plate the spinach first, then the egg, then the toast and surround with your roasted tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

